MDC President Receives Latina Pioneer of the Year AwardRecognition given at 22nd Annual Hispanic Women of Distinction Charity event

MDC President with others at awards ceremony

President Madeline Pumariega received the Latina Pioneer of the Year award at the 22nd Annual Hispanic Women of Distinction Charity luncheon at Signature Grand in Davie, Florida.

Hispanic Women of Distinction was founded in 2001 by the late Erwin M. Vasquez, M.D., a Venezuelan-born cardiologist, philanthropist and publisher of El Heraldo de Broward newspapers. Presented by Latina Style Magazine, in partnership with Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, as well as a host of other corporate and media partners, the event honors Latina professionals who are strengthening the country’s social fabric and making inroads in the leadership pipeline for an increasingly diverse America.

“It’s an honor to be included in this group of amazing women transforming communities across various industries and disciplines,” said President Pumariega. “At MDC, we are committed to creating opportunities that not only help students thrive in their professional and personal lives but also contribute to the city’s growth and prosperity.”

President Pumariega is the first woman to lead MDC. Her passion for innovation in higher education was born out of her own experiences, first as a student athlete and then as a longtime administrator at MDC. Prior to her appointment as president, she was executive vice president and provost at Tallahassee Community College. She also served as the first female and Hispanic Chancellor of the Florida College System, and was president of Take Stock in Children, a statewide nonprofit focused on breaking the poverty cycle through education.

Among her many accomplishments and accolades, President Pumariega was inducted into the Miami-Dade County Public Schools Hall of Fame and received City of Miami’s Julia Tuttle Award.

View President Pumariega’s complete bio.