Six Aviation Students Awarded Timothy E. Johnson Jr. Scholarship2017 Timothy E. Johnson Jr. Scholarship Awards

Group photo with scholarship recipients
Mark Cole, Dr. Jeanne Jacobs, Timothy Johnson Sr., Kevin Mase, Sebastian Metral, Henry Golembeski, German Melo and Christopher Bazaka

Six remarkable Miami Dade College aviation students received the prestigious Timothy E. Johnson Jr. Scholarship today during the awards luncheon hosted by Miami Dade College Foundation.  The scholarship will help students to achieve their dream of becoming pilots.

This year’s winners are MDC Eig-Watson School of Aviation students: Christopher BazakaRodolfo CabezasHenry GolembeskiGerman MeloSebastian Metral and Corey Pritchard.  Each student will be awarded up to $8,000 through the scholarship fund.

Established in 2013, the Timothy E. Johnson Jr. Scholarship is named after the late South Florida pilot and aviation enthusiast who devoted his free time to saving the lives of animals through the Pilots N Paws program. Johnson passed away in an aviation accident in 2012.

The scholarship will assist the students with pilot training costs. In addition to tuition for Eig-Watson’s Professional Pilot Technology program, students have to pay for much-needed flight training hours required to fly commercially. As of 2013, the Federal Aviation Administration raised the pilot qualification requirement from 250 to 1,500 hours of flight experience, which in turn, has raised the cost and time to train new pilots.

The Timothy E. Johnson Jr. Scholarship is managed through the MDC Foundation in partnership with the Eig-Watson School of Aviation. Since 1965, MDC Foundation has been committed to raising essential private funds for MDC to change lives, families, communities and the world through the opportunity of education.

Learn more about how you can make a difference at