Miami Dade College Students Named PTK Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars

Miami, August 11, 2020 – Miami Dade College (MDC) students from North and Padrón Campuses were recently named Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)  2020 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership potential. MDC students have been perennial winners of this coveted award.

MDC’s winners were selected from nearly 700 applicants from across the county. Each Coca-Cola Leader of Promise Scholar receives a $1,000 scholarship to help defray educational expenses while enrolled in an associate degree program.

In addition, Padrón Campus student, Helen Menendez, was one of only two nationwide recipients of the GEICO Pathway to Completion Associate Degree Scholars, which awards $1,000 to PTK members who have held significant leadership positions on campus or in their communities.

Meet this year’s winners:

GEICO Pathway to Completion Associate Degree Scholar

Helen Menendez – Padrón Campus

2020 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars

Amalia Abraham – Padrón Campus

Lauren Bonilla – Padrón Campus

Alana Acevedo – North Campus

Karla Cardoso – Padrón Campus

Fabiana Aguilar – North Campus

Talía Fragoso – Padrón Campus

Jendy Barrio – North Campus

Adriana Gómez Quintero – Padrón Campus

Emily González – North Campus

Elías Marcet – Padrón Campus

Kelly Mayol – North Campus

Marcos Rivas – Padrón Campus

Andrea Moran – North Campus

Thalía Rodríguez – Padrón Campus

Karina Quiroga – North Campus

Mariana Ruiz – Padrón Campus

Lucwilerna Raymond – North Campus

Anthon Reid – North Campus

Stephanie Peralta – North Campus

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. To learn more, visit