Miami Dade College Students Receive Top Scholarships From Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Miami, March 18, 2024 – Several Miami Dade College (MDC) students from Kendall, Padrón and Wolfson campuses were recently awarded some of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society’s most important and substantial scholarships including the Hites Transfer Scholarship, the Guistwhite Scholarship and the All-USA Academic Team. In addition, three students from Padrón Campus won Distinguished Campus awards.


Hites Transfer Scholarship

Javier Cunat (Kendall)

Manuel Andrés Martínez (Padrón)

Arquímedes Rivero (Wolfson)

The Hites Transfer Scholarship is PTK’s most prestigious and largest scholarship offering at $7,500. Hites Scholars are selected based on outstanding academic achievement, leadership and engagement in college and community activities. They were chosen from among 3,000 applicants.

New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar

Mateo Fabian Medina (Padrón Campus) achieved the highest score in Florida in the All-USA Academic Team competition, for which he will be awarded a $5,000 scholarship. He was one of 20 students selected for this award. As a New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar, he will receive a $2,250 scholarship. This program, which recognizes 104 Scholars annually, is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the American Association of Community Colleges and PTK.

Guistwhite Scholar

Jennifer Suarez (Wolfson Campus)

Suarez is one of eight students selected for the second-highest scholarship offered by PTK and will receive a $5,000 scholarship for baccalaureate studies. She was chosen from 3,000 applicants nationwide, and her selection was based on academic excellence, leadership accomplishments and engagement in PTK programs.

Coca-Cola Academic Scholar

Selection as a Coca-Cola Scholar is based on scores students earn in the All-USA Academic Team competition, for which more than 2,200 applications were received this year. Students are nominated by their college administrators and winners are selected based on academic achievement, leadership and engagement in college and community service. This program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

  • Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar

Jose Restrepo (Wolfson) – $1,500 scholarship

  • Coca-Cola Academic Team Silver Scholar

Samantha Espinoza (Padrón)$1,250 scholarship

PTK Hallmark Awards:

  • Samantha Espinosa (Padrón Campus) has been selected for PTK’s 2024 Distinguished Chapter Officer Awards
  • Isabella Felix Castillo (Padrón Campus) has been selected for Phi PTK’s 2024 Distinguished Chapter Member Awards
  • Diego Tibaquirá (Padrón Campus) has been selected as one of the recipients of PTK’s 2024 Continued Excellence Award for Advisors

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at