Miami Dade College Foundation Raises Record $2.1 Million to Benefit Students at 15th Annual MDC Alumni Hall of Fame

Miami, April 19, 2017Miami Dade College’s Foundation raised a record $2.1 million to benefit student scholarships during its sold out 2017 Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, April 18, making it the most successful event in its 15-year history.

The event also saw its highest attendance and sponsorship to date— with more than 1,000 attendees and a record 98 sponsoring organizations. The funds raised by MDC Foundation will be used for scholarships for current and future students.

MDC’s President Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón announced the record-breaking results of the fundraiser during Tuesday night’s ceremony at the Hilton Miami Downtown. Hall of Fame sponsorships totaled $1.1 million. During the event, Dr. Padrón announced two surprise donations – bringing the grand total to $2.1 million. The Mitchell Wolfson Sr. Foundation donated $1 million, and Florida Blue donated $100,000 – all to benefit students.

This year’s top benefactors to the MDC Alumni Hall of Fame include RICOH Inc, Grupo Mezerhane, Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra (MBAF), OHL-Arellano, Leon Medical Centers, Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings, and The Lennar Foundation. The full sponsor list can be found online at

The MDC Alumni Hall of Fame is MDC Foundation’s largest annual fundraiser. Each year, Miami Dade College celebrates the accomplishments of successful alumni from a wide range of careers. The 2017 inductee class is no exception, with distinguished leaders who have impacted their fields and have positively represented MDC in their community. Past inductees include actor Andy Garcia, publisher Jerry Powers, retired journalist Tony Segreto, prominent attorney Cesar Alvarez, music industry mogul Emilio Estefan, Pulitzer prize-winning playwright Nilo Cruz, and star athlete and former Dolphin receiver Nat Moore, to name a few.

For more information about the MDC Alumni Hall of Fame, and to make a donation, visit

Following is a complete list of this year’s honorees:


Banking                                    Fernando L. Crespo, Senior Vice President, SunTrust Bank Inc.


Construction                              Eric Montes de Oca, Vice President and Partner, Grycon LLC


Education                                  Daniel Marcos Mateo, Principal, BioTECH @ Richmond Heights 9-12 High School


Engineering                               Carlos A. Penin, P.E., President, C.A.P. Government Inc.


Entrepreneurship                        Joe Arriola, Chairman of the Public Health Trust, Jackson Health System


Finance                                     Yolanda R. Nader, CEO/CFO, Dosal Tobacco Corp.


Health Care                               Aurelio M. Fernandez, III, President and CEO, Memorial Healthcare System


Hospitality & Tourism                 David Healy, Vice President and General Manager, The Graham Companies/Graham Hospitality


Journalism – Print                       Rick Jervis, National Correspondent, USA TODAY


Law                                          José I. Astigarraga, Shareholder, Astigarraga Davis


Nonprofit                                   Rosa Maria Plasencia, President and CEO, Amigos for Kids


Performing Arts – Dance             Lloyd Knight, Principal Dancer, Martha Graham Dance Company.


Psychology                               Judith Migoya, Psy.D., Psychologist and Co-Owner, Pediatric Psychology Associates


Public Relations                         Raquel “Rocky” Egusquiza, Vice President of Community Affairs, NBCU Telemundo Enterprises


Visual Arts                                Sinuhé Vega Negrin, Visual Artist, Sinuhé Vega Negrin Studio


MDC Foundation contact: Alyssa Zamora, director of communications and digital engagement, 305-237-3331,