MDC’s Miami Book Fair and National Poetry Series Announce 2024 Paz Prize for Poetry Contest

Miami, May 23, 2024 Miami Dade College’s (MDC) acclaimed Miami Book Fair (MBF), in collaboration with The National Poetry Series, is accepting submissions for the coveted 2024 Paz Prize for Poetry. The deadline to submit is June 15, 2024.

Named in honor of the late Nobel Prize-winning poet, Octavio Paz, the award recognizes a previously unpublished poetry book written in Spanish by a poet residing in the U.S. The Prize recognizes book-length manuscripts of poetry written in Spanish. The winning work will be translated into English and published in a bilingual edition by the prestigious independent publisher Akashic Books, and its author receives a $2,000 cash prize. 

“The continuation of the Paz Prize over the years is essential in building a rich and diverse literary tradition within the Spanish-speaking community in the U.S.,” said Mariela Gal, Miami Book Fair’s Director of Spanish Programs. “By consistently honoring and promoting new poetic talents, the Prize affirms the value of poetry as an art form, fosters a sense of community and belonging and helps to bridge geographical and cultural divides.”

More than 500 poets from across the U.S. have entered the literary contest in the past. In addition to the cash prize, winners are invited to read at Miami Book Fair, and have the opportunity to present their books at other events throughout the country. Past winners include Cuban poetOneyda Gonzalezfor her manuscript El lazo infinito; Dinapiera Di Donato for her collection Colaterales; Carlos Pintado for his collection Nueve Monedas/Nine coins; Legna Rodríguez Iglesias for Miami Century Fox; Johanny Vázquez Paz for Offer My Heart as a Target/Ofrezco mi corazón como una diana and Mexican-American poet Alejandro Pérez-Cortés for Ima y Coli son el árbol que nunca fue semilla / Ima and Coli: The Tree That Was Never a Seed.

The National Poetry Series was established in 1978 by Daniel Halpern and James Michener to ensure the publication of five collections of poetry annually through participating publishers. More than 175 books have been awarded since the Series’ inception. Board members include Julia Alvarez, Sandra Cisneros, Cristina Garcia, Mitchell Kaplan, Campbell McGrath, Pablo Medina, Gary Soto, Ilan Stavans, and Luisa Valenzuela.

About Miami Book Fair
Founded in 1984 by Miami Dade College and partners, Miami Book Fair engages the community through inclusive, accessible programs that promote reading and support writers year-round. The annual eight-day festival has grown into the largest and most comprehensive community-rooted literary gathering in the United States, generating discourse on contemporary literature and current issues of international importance. Throughout the rest of the year, Miami Book Fair hosts an ongoing schedule of activities, including Little Haiti Book Festival; creative writing and publishing workshops; author presentations; reading campaigns; and Books for Free, a partnership with The Children’s Trust that distributes more than 180,000 free books a year to children in Miami-Dade County.  Miami Book Fair programming is made possible through generous support from the State of Florida and the National Endowment for the Arts; City of Miami; Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council; Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners; Miami-Dade County Public Schools; Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau; Miami Downtown Development Authority; and Friends of the Fair; as well as many corporate partners. Miami Book Fair: Building community, one reader at a time.

For guidelines and more information, visit

For Miami Book Fair updates, please visit, call 305-237-3528 or email

Miami Book Fair contact: Deyanira Navarrette, 305-495-7168,