Governor Ron DeSantis Appoints Five Members to the Miami Dade College Board of Trustees


Miami, March 22, 2019 – Governor Ron DeSantis (R-FL) announced the appointments of Dr. Anay Abraham, Michael Bileca, Benjamin Leon III, Carlos Migoya and Marcell Felipe to Miami Dade College’s (MDC) Board of Trustees. They join Chairman Bernie Navarro and Vice Chairman Jose K. Fuentes.

Dr. Anay Abraham is the Managing Director of Developmental & External Relations at City Year Miami, a non-profit organization focused on keeping high-need middle and high school students on track for graduation.

Michael Bileca is a founding partner of Towncare Dental Partnership, Inc. He is a former State Legislator, most recently representing the 115th District in the Florida House of Representatives.

Benjamin Leon III is the executive vice chairman of Leon Medical Centers, a managed healthcare system offering services to the residents of Miami-Dade County. He also serves on the board of the Latin American Chamber of Commerce. He has been reappointed.

Carlos Migoya, an MDC alumnus, is the president and CEO of Jackson Health System. He sits on the board of the Florida Chamber of Commerce, Downtown Charter School in Miami and the Beacon Council.

An international tax and corporate lawyer, Marcell Felipe is the founder of Marcell Felipe Attorneys, as well as the Inspire America Foundation, which promotes democracy in Cuba and the Americas. Felipe is also an MDC alumnus.

The College thanks outgoing Trustees Dr. Susan Amat, Dr. Rolando Montoya, and Juan Carlos Zapata for their outstanding service.