Fourteen Outstanding Miami Dade College Faculty Have Been Named 2022 Endowed Teaching Chairs

Miami, July 25, 2022 – Miami Dade College (MDC) has selected 14 faculty members to receive the College’s highest honor, the 2022 Endowed Teaching Chairs. The honorees will be recognized at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, Dec. 6.

The Endowed Teaching Chair Program is a faculty honor and one of MDC’s most prestigious and valued traditions. Each year, top faculty are selected by their peers for this special award, demonstrating excellence in teaching and commitment to MDC’s mission.

To date, more than 300 MDC faculty members have been recognized since the Endowed Teaching Chair Program began in 1992. Endowed Teaching Chairs receive a stipend of $7,500 per year for three years to explore new teaching methods, develop projects and enhance their technological expertise. The program is generously funded by individuals, corporations and organizations through the ongoing work of MDC Foundation.

Meet the 2022 Endowed Teaching Chairs:

Murray Sisselman & Peter H. Clayton Endowed Teaching Chair
Rene Barrientos, Senior Associate Professor

Hialeah Campus

Hank Meyers Endowed Teaching Chair
Kelly Kennedy, Professor

Hialeah Campus

Arthur Hertz Endowed Teaching Chair
Sheryl Hartman, Professor
North Campus

Blockbuster Entertainment Corporation Endowed Teaching Chair
Arlen Garcia, Professor
North Campus

Charles A. and Carrie Mastronardi Endowed Teaching Chair
Jairo Ledesma, Assistant Professor
Homestead Campus

The Honorable Jack Gordon Endowed Teaching Chair
Trinidad Arguelles, Associate Professor
West Campus

Louis Wolfson III Endowed Teaching Chair
Minca Davis Brantley, Professor
North Campus

The SunTrust Bank Endowed Teaching Chair in Banking and Finance
Ana Corrales, Senior Associate Professor
Wolfson Campus

John S. & James L. Knight Foundation Endowed Teaching Chair
Joshua Ellis, Senior Associate Professor
North Campus

Janet Reno Endowed Teaching Chair in Criminal Justice
Samantha Carlo, Senior Associate Professor
North Campus

Kiwanis Club of Little Havana Foundation Endowed Teaching Chair
Emily Sendin, Professor
Padrón Campus

The Dr. Robert H. McCabe Endowed Teaching Chair
John Frazier, Senior Associate Professor
Kendall Campus

Simon Bolivar Endowed Teaching Chair
Marisa N. Madison, Associate Professor
Homestead Campus

HCA Healthcare Corporation Endowed Teaching Chair
Takenya McDonald, Associate Professor
Medical Campus

About the Miami Dade College Foundation

Founded in 1965, Miami Dade College Foundation raises essential private funds to support scholarships, academic programs and support services so MDC students have the opportunity to pursue their dreams. MDC Foundation also supports world-class arts and cultural programming at MDC that enriches the community. In 2020-2021, MDC Foundation distributed $14.4 million to benefits the students and programs of MDC. Known as Democracy’s College, MDC changes lives through accessible, high-quality teaching and learning experiences that prepare students for tomorrow’s workforce. MDC is the nation’s most diverse institution of higher education with an enrollment of more than 100,000 students and more than two million alumni. It is also the nation’s top producer of Associate in Arts and Science degrees, and awards more degrees to minorities than any other college or university in the country.  For more information visit

MDC Foundation contact: Oneisys Echenique, Assistant Director of Special Events, 305-237-7287,